Book Club

September 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

There is a pretty cool place around the corner from us in Shoreditch called ‘The Book Club‘. It serves food and you can play pool if you so wish. They have monthly listings for events ranging from music, poetry, talks and readings to workshops etc. All under one roof! Is this what they call a ‘cultural revolution’?

So sitting here I thought I would start up my own Book Club. Well sort of… the usual modus operandi is that everybody reads the same book and it gets discussed at another meeting (usually with liquid refreshments). I am pretty particular about the books I read (stuck in the mud, I guess), so I don’t usually go in for book clubs.  I thought I would tell you what I am reading and you could let me know if you’ve read it and liked it. If not, then I don’t mind, we don’t all have the same taste in books, clothes, art and films, do we?

Did I tell you about my obsession with books and their covers? I do have a passion for them and in another 10 years I will have to move to a bigger house to accommodate them all! I decided to revisit Oscar Wilde’s ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’. It is the Penguin Hardback Classics clothbound edition.

These are some old books we have collected of Aubrey Menen, just because we like the jacket designs. I’ve only read one called ‘Dead Man in the Silver Market’. It was very amusing. There is a great website for second hand books AbeBooks.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Club at raw dice.

meta

