Marylebone – Kitchens to die for

June 10, 2011 § 2 Comments

We need to decorate the Shoreditch loft. It needs a new kitchen and a bathroom. Beyond a lick of paint, that is about all it needs. Since we moved in there at the beginning of the year, we have not done anything but gather catalogues and ideas. Given that we want to use the flat as a showcase for all our interesting finds that we have at rawdice, I feel we need to make a statement. Having ventured out to two of my absolute favourite kitchen showrooms, I am in a dilemma. Do I go for a  Bulthaup b2 kitchen workshop or my all time most desired kitchen company Plain English?

These kitchens ooze quality and I have fallen for them. The Bulthaup b2 kitchen has been designed with the idea of a workbench and toolbox. The kitchen cabinets fold away like a toolbox when you are not using them. It seems to turn the idea of a conventional kitchen upside down. The workbench is versatile, you can put it in the middle of the room, if you had enough space – instead of arranging everything against a wall. I can really see this kitchen working in our flat. It will not be intrusive, given that the kitchen is part of one big space for dining and living.

I am equally drawn to the elegance of a Plain English kitchen. I have been a fan of these ever since we moved to the country and started looking for a replacement kitchen for our cottage. I never did get to convince David that this was the one we needed. We did have an artist/yatchmaker David Storey (who was featured in Coast magazine) to design and make our kitchen. I was very pleased with it and still love my country kitchen, but I still covert a Plain English kitchen, regardless of the fact that my kitchen does not need replacing!

This design is called Spitalfields, which would also suit the loft. It will be very aptly named as well, given that the flat is a stone’s throw away from the Spitalfields. 15 years ago, we almost bought a huge house opposite Spitalfields Market, in Puma Court. We decided against it and bought a warehouse flat in Wapping instead. Back then, Spitalfields was not the busy hub it is today. The City was just beginning to burst and spread east and northwards. People were buying up derelict Georgian houses for around £350K. Anyway, I must tell you more about Spitalfields another time.

I really am torn between the two kitchens. I am off to contemplate the virtues of both and will keep you all informed of progress (if any).

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Marylebone – Kitchens to die for

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Marylebone – Kitchens to die for at raw dice.

meta

