London and the 2 M’s

June 7, 2011 § Leave a comment

What a cultural week I have had! I started my tour by visiting the Miro exhibition at  the Tate Modern. I didn’t know much about Joan Miro before I went. I must confess to not knowing much about art to begin with, so it’s always good to go and enjoy an exhibition and be enlightened. Even if you don’t fully understand what the artist was trying to convey. I did take away the fact that Miro was hugely political and his paintings reflected the turmoil and angst he was suffering during Spain’s dark and violent early 20th century history.

One quote from Miro has stayed with me: “I understand that an artist is someone who, in the midst of others’ silence , uses his own voice to say something, uses his own voice to say something and who makes sure that what he says is not useless but something that is useful to mankind.’ A very profound utterance, I sometimes wonder whether artists are created or just are born creative. Surely, we all have something to say in response to our world but how we say what we feel differs from person to person. I admire people who can express their feelings through a creative process.

I especially love his painting of ‘A Star Caresses the Breast of a Negress’ despite the translation of the words.

A Star Caresses the Breast of a Negress

Miro - A Star Caress the Breast of a Negress

In the evening I met up with friends and we had a pre-theatre drinks at the Covent Garden Hotel – Brasserie Max. The chairs in the bar area caught my eye. I am obsessed with finding out the name of the fabric they were covered in. The design is floral and bold, the colours are very alluring – I must have some of this fabric.

Covent Garden Hotel - chair

The Harold Pinter play ‘Moonlight’ at the Donmar Warehouse, left our group somewhat perplexed as to the meaning of who, what, where and why. After some discussion during dinner, we came to the conclusion that although thought provoking and worthy, we might choose a more uplifting play for our next outing. There is no set change during this short play, just a man on his deathbed, discussing life and woes with his wife. The dialogue between the brothers reminded me of Graham Greene characters. There is no doubt that it is a well written play with some memorable quotes. Beats a musical though, I really don’t enjoy musicals very much!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading London and the 2 M’s at raw dice.

meta

